Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

As some of you may have noticed, I’ve recently added a ratings system for the essays that I have posted so far. Although I would prefer comments because I think that they help facilitate discussion and add to the richness of the topics, by providing more information and varying opinions, I understand that they are not for everyone. So, I have provided a very simple, supplementary method of assessment in hopes of receiving more feedback on my writing. This system is very easy to use, all you need to do is hover your mouse over the number of stars you think my post deserves and click. Thank you in advance for your willingness to help me in my journey as a writer.

My first midterms are right around the corner, so please bear with me during these next two weeks because I will be very busy and not able to post as frequently as I would like. With that said, I will be putting up my final essay for “The Dark Knight Returns,” on the role of the media as both a narrative device and as political commentary, later this week.

The next graphic novel I will be reading is “Batman: Year One” by Frank Miller. I was so impressed with his innovative narrative style and imagination in “The Dark Knight Returns,” that I wanted to read another of his works. I chose to read “Year One” because I wanted to see Frank Miller’s take on the origin story of Bruce Wayne/Batman, as well as the fact that it is in the same continuity as his other Batman stories. Because “Year One” is in the same timeline as “The Dark Knight Returns,” I think there is an amazing opportunity to create a dialogue between these two stories.

Year One - Batman and Gordon

